Shoplifting Criminal Penalties

Class A Nonperson Misdemeanor in Kansas
Under the Kansas state law, a class A nonperson misdemeanor occurs when someone shoplifts a property worth $1,000 or less in value. In Kansas, the legal penalties for a class A nonperson misdemeanor can result in criminal fines (up to $2,500) and/or county jail time of up to one year.

Severity Level 9 Nonperson Felony
Under the Kansas state law, a severity level 9 nonperson felony occurs when anyone shoplifts property valued between $1,000 to $25,000. Another instance of a severity level 9 nonperson felony is when someone shoplifts a property worth $1,000 or less in value and has previously been convicted two or more times with a theft related crime in the past. Finally, a severity level 9 nonperson felony can also be issued when a person shoplifts a property, of any value,  from at least 3 separate stores in a 72 hour time period. In Kansas, the legal penalties for a severity level 9 nonperson felony can result in criminal fines (up to $100,000) and/or county jail time of 5 to 7 months.

Severity Level 7 Nonperson Felony
Under the Kansas state law, a severity level 7 nonperson felony will be issued to anyone who shoplifts property valued between $25,000 to $100,000. The legal penalties in Kansas for a severity level 7 nonperson felony include an incarceration sentence of 11 to 13 months and a criminal fine $100,000 or less.

Severity Level 5 Nonperson Felony    
Under the Kansas state law, a severity level 5 nonperson felony is the most severe punishment and is issued to anyone who shoplifts property valued between $100,000 or more. The legal penalties in Kansas for a severity level 5 nonperson felony will potentially result in an incarceration sentence of 31 to 34 months and a criminal fine of of up to $200,000.