Under the Kansas state law, a class A misdemeanor occurs when someone steals services or properties that are typically estimated to be worth $1,000 or less. This type of theft is classified as petty theft. Petty theft is usually described as a relatively minor crime (or misdemeanor) and is the lowest type of theft in the state of Kansas. Another example of a class A nonperson misdemeanor would be check fraud, which occurs when someone writes a fake check worth less than $,1000. In Kansas, the legal penalties for a class A nonperson misdemeanor can result in criminal fines (less than $2,500) and/or county jail time of up to one year.