Civil Penalties for Shoplifting in Kansas

Under the Kansas state law, if a person has committed a shoplifting offense in a store, then that store’s owner can hold that person civilly liable for the following charges below. Note: If the person who has committed the shoplifting offense is a minor, then the parent or legal guardian of that minor can also be held civilly liable to the store owner.
* The shoplifter may receive a civil penalty, in which they must pay equal to twice the price of the retail price of the stolen merchandise, or pay a fee of $50, whichever price is greater, if the merchandise is returned in an unsalable condition. A maximum fee of $500 may be required.
* The shoplifter may receive a civil penalty requiring them to pay $50 or 50% of the cost of the merchandise, whichever price is greater, if the merchandise in salable condition when it’s returned. A maximum fee of $350 may be required. If the offense is done by a minor, they may be charged with a maximum fee of $50
* The shoplifter may also be responsible for paying for the store owner’s attorney fees and court costs